The Progressive Publishing Company
Our 102nd Year Serving Clearfield, Curwensville, Philipsburg, and Moshannon Valley, PA

The Progress Home >> Monday, May 13, 2013 - Randy Phillips wins late model feature at America's Motorsports Park

  News Department
  Sports Department
  Classified Advertising
  Legal Advertising
  Display (Retail) Advertising
  Circulation Department
  Death Notices

Forms and Submissions
  Submission Forms

More than just news...
  Looking for information?

Site Tools

Other Links
  News Related Links
  Business Related Links

Search Site


Johnson Motors - 877-816-0659
Randy Phillips wins late model feature at America's Motorsports Park
Monday, May 13, 2013
From Staff Reports
Rodney Phillips, of Punxsutawney, became the third different Randy Sterling Trucking Late Model feature winner of the season at America's Motorsports Park in Clearfield on Saturday night as Jeff and America Taylor rolled the dice and completed a full program when numerous other area speedways threw in the towel due to the weather.
Other new winners included Colton Gearhart, of DuBois, in the Harter and Sons Garage Street Stocks and Jason Beichner, of Shippenville, in the Quigley's Pub Pure Stocks.
Rick Lias, of Dayton, won the vintage modified exhibition race while repeat winners include Denny Fenton, of Clearfield, in the Denny's Beer Barrel Pub Semi-Lates and Stephanie Ivory, of Coalport, in the Clearfield County Metals Four-Cylinders.
The late models were led to the start with Clearfield drivers Denny Fenton and Chris Farrell on the front row. Fenton took the lead at the drop of Allen Luzier's green flag. Fenton was setting a torrid pace, with Farrell in second and Rodney Phillips in third early in the race, then Mike Blose, Scott Stein and Luke Hoffner got into the fix to set up a tight, five-car battle at the front of the field.
Phillips squeezed into second on lap seven, but Farrell wouldn't go away as he stayed on Phillips. On lap 17 Phillips was able to shoot past Fenton with Farrell following that route with just two laps to go, as a late-race caution set up a two-lap dash for the cash.
When the final green waved Phillips was still leading. Farrell shot into second and Hoffner got by Blose and Fenton for third. Entering the final turn Fenton nearly spun, shooting through the infield as Phillips went on to win.
The official top five were Phillips, Farrell, Hoffner, Blose and Bernie Whiteford. Heat races were won by Hoffner and Blose.
The street stocks were brought to the line 18 cars strong with Joe Jordan and Matthew Hugill on the front row.
Hugill took the lead and sat through many cautions before the race finally took off. As Hugill set the pace, Colton Gearhart was all over him like, and on lap eight, Gearhart made the outside lane work and took the lead off turn four.
Once Gearhart was out front, he never looked back, winning by a straightaway over Hugill. Doug Tibbens, Brent Lee and Tim Fannin rounded out the top five. The heat wins were split by Hugill and Jordan.
Cody Hummel and Jon Lee brought the pure stocks to the start, but it was third-place starter Doug Surra who took the lead at the start and was holding the position over Jason Beichner for most of the race. Beichner finally found the right groove and took the lead from Surra and held him off the rest of the way.
At the line the top five were Beichner, Surra, Ben Krause, Luke Barnett and Jim Challingsworth. Beichner and Colton Joiner split the heat races.
The four-cylinders saw Walt Fedder on the pole with Cody McNaughton on the outside of the front row.
McNaughton took the lead first, and once again the race was a barn-burner with Fedder. On lap three, McNaughton spun in turn two, giving the lead over to Fedder, who lost the position to Bryan Warren on lap five.
Warren's time at the front was short-lived, as Stephanie Ivory took the lead on lap six and she checked out and the race for second heated up. Warren was able to hold on for the runner-up spot until the twin flags signaled two more laps. That's when Shawn Fedder moved to second.
At the finish the top five were Ivory for her second straight, Shawn Fedder, Warren, Bill Hassenplug and Josh Henry. Heat wins went to Ivory and Warren.
The semi-late field doubled over last week's, with four drivers in the pits, but the end result was the same, as again Denny Fenton bested the field for his third straight win. Dylan Fenton was second, Chad Desmond was third and Jackie Phillips was fourth. Denny Fenton won the heat.
The Vintage Modifieds paid a visit with five cars on hand, as Rick Lias took the win over Kevin Mohney, Mark Weigle, Jim McDermott and Dave George. The heat was won by Lias.
AMP NOTES: There were a total of 71 cars in the pits, including 18 late models, 4 semi-lates, 18 street stocks, 14 pure stocks, 12 four-cylinders and 5 Vintage Modifieds ... All racing action was completed by 9:41 p.m. ... Coming up this week is a regular AMPed-up show for the late models, semi-late models, street stocks, pure stocks and four-cylinders ... Coming up on July 3 is the 410 Super Sprints along with the front-wheel drive four-cylinders ... For more information, call the speedway at 765-FLAG or check out the website at

Randy Sterling Trucking Late Models
1. Rod Phillips; 2. Chris Farrell; 3. Luke Hoffner; 4. Mike Blose; 5. Bernie Whiteford; 6. Scott Stein; 7. Gabe Shaffer; 8. Denny Fenton; 9. Dan Gill; 10. Duane Stiner.
Denny's Beer Barrel Pub Semi-Lates
1. Denny Fenton; 2. Dylan Fenton; 3. Chad Desmond; 4. Jackie Phillips.
Harter and Son's Garage Street Stocks
1. Colton Gearhart; 2. Matt Hugill; 3. Doug Tibbens; 4. Brent Lee; 5. Tim Fannin; 6. Brian Rhed; 7. Tony Brown; 8. Joe Jordan; 9. Joe Kot; 10. Chad Rougeux.
Quigley's Pub Pure Stocks
1. Jason Beichner; 2. Doug Surra; 3. Ben Krause; 4. Luke Barnett; 5. Jim Challingsworth; 6. Shawn Munoz; 7. Cody Hummel; 8. Hunter McCracken; 9. Jon Lee; 10. Eric Lucas.
Clearfield County Metals Front Wheel Drive Four-Cylinders
1. Stephanie Ivory; 2. Shawn Fedder; 3. Bryan Warren; 4. Bill Hassenplug; 5. Joshua Henry; 6. Rodney Luzier; 7. David Helsel; 8. Troy Peace; 9. Cody McNaughton; 10. Walt Fedder.
Vintage Modifieds
1. Rick Lias; 2. Kevin Mohney; 3. Mark Weigle; 4. Jim McDermott; 5. Dave George.
Dotts Motor Company - 814-765-9681